Yankees lost on Mariano Day at Yankee Stadium and I know I shouldn’t be disappointed- both Mo and Andy Pettitte have had careers most dream about, but I can’t help but feel they deserve better than that.

I’ve been behind the team this season hard… telling doubters that they’ll be fine once they get healthy- uh when will they get healthy?! I said they’d make the playoffs and I’m still sticking to that until it’s mathematically impossible, but come on guys- why no run support for Andy, why no chance at a save for Mo?

I know, I know, the team is trying, they didn’t want to lose either, but I’m having a fan moment and just wishing they could have pulled it out. Too much is on the line this last week and I want the shot at October ball!

Ok… with all that Debbie Downer stuff out of the way, I’m going to turn this post around and share my favorite in person Pettitte memory and of course my favorite MO-ment.

Not living in the New York area makes it hard to go to games with the intent on seeing a particular pitcher. When I go as a visiting fan I am hoping for a great pitching, but I’ll take anyone as long as they’re wearing a Yankees uniform. It was always a treat to get to a game and see that Pettitte was pitching. Despite the HGH, he’s been my favorite pitcher- I’ve forgiven him and honestly don’t care anymore. I know I dislike A-Rod for steroids, but what can I say, I’m human and prone to bouts of fan hypocrisy! It happens to the best of us ;).

My favorite in person Pettitte memory was on my 2010 Sister Trip out west. Our first stop was Phoenix to see the Yanks take on the Dbacks and our trip took an unexpected turn when our flight got delayed preventing us from going to the game that night. We were not happy about our 8 hour “trip to Milwaukee.” It ended up being a blessing in disguise- by pushing back our game plans a day, we avoided seeing a loss and got to see Pettitte on the mound! It was a tight game until the 7th when the Yankees finally got the offense going. After the game, Alex and I got on the field and we took a picture standing on the mound. I remember thinking- Pettitte was just here 30 minutes ago pitching! He’s tied to that experience now for life…

Pettitte on the mound in Chase Field. Yankees win 9-3.
Pettitte on the mound in Chase Field. Yankees win 9-3.
Alex and me post game.
Alex and me post game.
Alex and me standing on the pitcher's mound post game. I have since gotten rid of that shirt...
Alex and me standing on the pitcher’s mound post game. I have since gotten rid of that shirt…

Mo. He is the epitome of what it means to be a Yankee. A great. A legend. I’m about to cry just writing that! My heart is so invested in this sport and in my team. Baseball just gets me worked up- I think it’s so beautiful! Mariano is a legend and it has been an honor to watch him play and have him in pinstripes. My favorite memory of Mo in person actually happened on that same West Coast Sister’s Trip, except this time it was against the LA Dodgers.

Alex and I went to the first game of the series– it was Joe vs. Joe and a match-up of pitching aces. The game was down to the line and surprisingly A-Rod was the hero- going the yard and putting the Yanks on top 2-1. The crowd was electric as the Sandman entered to close out the game against the heart of the Dodgers order. What did he do? He struck out the side, including Manny Ramirez. I think you have to assume, but I will just put it in writing- I do not like Manny Ramirez. It. Was. Awesome. I loved it, Alex loved it, the other Yankee fans present loved it. One of the best games/nights of my life!

Battle of the Joes begins!
Battle of the Joes begins!
Rivera strikes out the side and the Yankees win! Thhheee Yaaankkkeeees win!
Rivera strikes out the side and the Yankees win! Thhheee Yaaankkkeeees win!
Manny is so Manny. Gross.
Manny is so Manny. Gross.
Happy girls after an intense pitchers duel that resulted in a W for the "good" guys!
Happy girls after an intense pitchers duel that resulted in a W for the “good” guys!

Bonus Mo-ment: The game Alex and I went to this year during a very short Sister’s Trip to NYC, just because I knew it was the last time I would see Mariano pitch in person. The game was great (Jeter back and that homer!) and Rivera came in and sealed it up, though not in a dramatic fashion like our Dodgers experience. Seeing the Yankees at home made it extra special- got to hear ‘Enter Sandman’ and not get booed for cheering for the team. Being part of the home crowd is sometimes a forgotten luxury!

We were right over the Yankees’ bullpen so I was able to grab a picture and this Vine:

Mariano Rivera

I have loved watching these guys over the years and I can feel the chapter of my childhood closing (yeah I’m 28 but these Yankees keep me in Never (Never ;)) land!) as two more members of the Core 4 hang up their cleats. They’ve been my childhood heroes and now only my absolute favorite, Jeter remains- but for how long? Like I said via Twitter yesterday- I wish players I liked could play forever, but unfortunately even legends are human! Thanks for the memories! #ExitSandman

I love when readers share their baseball memories with me so PLEASE let me know your favorite live Mo and Andy moments! Or if you’re not a Yankee fan, share your favorite memory of your favorite player.

