I have to admit my interest in the MLB playoffs is not up to its normal zeal due to a lack of gents in real pinstripes, but I’m still watching and trying to pick the team I want to see win it all.

Picture: Stephen Dunn/ Getty Images
Picture: Stephen Dunn/ Getty Images

The NL isn’t too tough, I’m leaning towards the Dodgers because of Don Mattingly (LA earned a soft spot in my heart when they got Joe Torre… ) and frankly, they’re exciting to watch. Do they come off a little like a-holes?, yeah, but that’s their swag and it’s working for them so I say- rock on.

Photograph: Beck Diefenbach/AP
Photograph: Beck Diefenbach/AP

The AL is a toughie since I don’t like any of the remaining teams for various reasons… mainly things they’ve done against the Yankees. Detroit is at the bottom of my list for injuring my man, Derek last season and Boston will forever be the Bosux to me, so I’m pulling for the A’s…. but I do think we’re in for a Dodgers/Red Sox World Series. It will probably be best for the sport too, ratings wise. At least I can enjoy this web gem of Big Papi getting drilled by his nephew while I watch them march through the postseason, looking sweet and unstoppable:

Those are just my quick thoughts on October ball and I did want to throw in that I’m very happy the Yankees locked up Joe Girardi for four more years! He is fantastic… now if they can just grab Robbie Cano for reasonable money! Speaking of reasonable money, here are some tips on how to save on travel, food, hotels, and sightseeing when chasing your favorite team:

Travel:

Ways to Save When Booking a Flight

Save on travel using Smartphone Apps.

Food:

Save on dining using Smartphone Apps.

Eat Well For Less

Save money on meals using city tourism websites.

Hotels:

Save on hotels using Smartphone Apps.

Save money on hotels using city tourism websites.

Sleep for Cheap

How to Stay in MLB Cities for Free!

Sightseeing:

When you’re not at the ballparks, check out the cities that house the MLB teams! Posts on the AL CentralAL East,  AL WestNL CentralNL East, or NL West cities.

Save money on sightseeing using city tourism websites.

Tickets:

Don’t let the idea of postseason and playoffs intimidate you- tickets aren’t too absurdly priced if you go through the team. Each team in the hunt has a lottery (since closed) on their website that you can sign up for and purchase tickets before they go on sale to the general public. Buying early is best for saving money and if a game is not played, you will be refunded. I encourage you to check your team’s site and explore your options.

For those wondering about refunds on hotels and flights- make sure what you book is refundable to avoid cancellation fees. Usually, when booking through a discount site like Expedia or Priceline they give you that option on hotels and flights. This is one of those times the small extra fee comes in handy. If you don’t opt for that fee and need to rid yourself of a room or flight, try putting it up on eBayCraigslist, or a site dedicated to this service like Cancelon or Jump Flight.

If you have any tips, suggestions, or simply a playoff baseball story you’d like to share- please do!

 

