Tampa Bay Rays Final T-ShirtI show you how to be a ballpark hottie for $15 or less!

This week’s shirt is for the Tampa Bay Rays. May it inspire them to get a new ballpark so ladies wearing cute shirts like this can get some sun and attract more fans to games! If good baseball play doesn’t get fans, I can only assume some sunshine and pretty girls are the answer! I’m kidding, but whatever it takes to get rid of Tropicana (#doyourpart). The design for this t-shirt is #4 Irma from the book, 99 Ways to Cut, Sew, Trim, and Tie Your T-Shirt into Something Special.

Follow the steps below for a unique spin on the everyday MLB shirt:

1. I ordered this shirt off of MLB.com in the clearance section for $10.18 in a small.  The design calls for the neck to be cut, so this shirt helps me skip a step! I liked the chest decal and thought it and the back “Tampa Bay” would work really well with this design.

2. The cut marks to make this shirt are below in yellow. The option to cut the neck into a v-neck (if the collar is not already) is shown in red. As for the vertical cut line in the middle, you only do that on the front of the shirt, not the back. The two horizontal lines are for both sides of the shirt. You can use chalk to mark your cut lines.

tampa bay rays shirt

3. Once you have your two strips, you’re ready to sew them onto either side of the vertical cut at the top of the shirt. Two things to take into consideration- 1. Make sure you have the seams on the inside (red circle below), this looks nicer. 2. Your strips might not line up with each other so you might have to re-trim the bottom of the shirt (yellow circle below).

tampa bay rays shirt

4. I recruited my Aunt Laureen to help me sew the two strips with her sewing machine. Of course, it’s doable by hand, but the machine is quicker (and looks better)!

aunt laureen tb rays shirt

5. Finally, you wrap the strips around your waist and tie them to your liking to get the end result:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This shirt was my first that involved sewing, which was a slight detractor, but the end result was totally worth it! It’s a little daring for my taste, but I’m sure ballpark babes around the country could rock this easily! It can be toned down with a cami underneath to cover the stomach too, a nice navy one would work well with this one in particular.

If you have a homemade t-shirt design to share, feel free to email it to me at aliciambarnhart@gmail.com.  Also, if you haven’t already, please like my Facebook page- Sports Wanderlust or follow me on Twitter- @alicia_barnhart.

