derek jeter final at bat in fenway park

What were you doing during Derek Jeter’s final at-bat yesterday? I was sitting on my aunt and uncle’s couch taking pictures of the TV as I watched him go out on top- with a hit and RBI. Couldn’t be more perfect to see him play his final game in Fenway, a rivalry I’ve enjoyed with a fan base I respect. It was fitting to see him go out in the gray uniform too, as I grew up watching him when the Yanks came to Cleveland. Didn’t see him in the iconic pinstripes until a family trip in the mid-2000s. 

After the hit and the cheering, I sat there reflecting and thinking of all the great memories I had of watching Jeter over the years and more so the people I was with during them. My sister Alex, my dad, my friends like Kim and Liz, and even on occasion my baseball hating sister Jezzie (who Jeter said hi to at a game… jealous!). That quote about people not remembering what you said or did, but how you make them feel rings true. My emotions got the best of me for a second time as shed a few tears.

While I will definitely remember how I felt and what Jeter did on the field, there is one thing he said, well wrote in his autobiography all those years ago that has always stuck with me as the best advice. He wrote that his parents told him he couldn’t just be a good athlete, but had to be an all around good person. When I think of Jeter, that’s what comes to mind most. This small nugget has just stuck, perhaps since it mirrors how my parents raised me. With all the negative press surrounding many athletes currently, perhaps this lesson needs to be passed around a little more!

It’s been an honor to be Derek Jeter’s fan all these years. How rare it is in this day and age that a player stays with one team and racks up all the career accolades as he has. I know I’m lucky to be his fan and look forward to following his post pinstripes career. Thank you, Derek. #Re2pect

Since I know I wanted all of Derek’s final week videos and pictures in one place, I stuck them here so you can enjoy them as well (a few Derek Jeter Day things snuck in here as well):

Walk-off single during his final game at Yankee Stadium:

Former teammates greet Jeter:

Final farewell to Yankee Stadium:

Boston fans chanting Derek Jeter:

Ceremony before final game at Fenway Park:

Jeter enters final game at Fenway Park:

Jeter’s final at bat at Fenway Park:

Bernie Williams serenades Jeter and the crowd at Fenway Park:

A few farewell articles and Tweets:

Jeter scripts perfect end to Bronx tale

Derek Jeter Takes In, and Provides, a Memorable Final View at Shortstop

Derek Jeter stories, GIFs, news from SB Nation

Derek Jeter ends career with RBI single at Fenway Park

Eye On Photos: ‘Derek Jeter Day’ at Yankee Stadium

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

