I show you how to be a ballpark hottie for $15 or less!

I’ve been staring at my big box of MLB t-shirts all winter thinking, “I really need to finish that blog series and get rid of those shirts.”

Well, it’s March now and despite the snowpocalypse outside, I finally got my scissors out finished them up.

While I was “researching” shirt ideas on Pinterest, I kept stumbling upon this skull face cut out design.  Even though I thought it looked cool, I dismissed it at first thinking a skull didn’t really tie into baseball. Then it hit me… the Jolly Roger flag… this is the perfect shirt for the Pittsburgh Pirates! I then had to quickly check to make sure I hadn’t done the Pirates already and as luck would have it, I hadn’t.

jolly roger flag

Follow the steps below for a unique spin on the everyday MLB shirt:

1. I ordered this shirt off of MLB.com in the clearance section for $8.98 in a medium. I usually wear a small, but I wanted this shirt to be a little more boxy on me than tight fitting.

2. On the back of the shirt, I used chalk to draw out the skeleton face that I would cut out.

pirates t-shirt

3. After I drew out a face that I liked, I cut the shapes out. After holding up the shirt, I decided to cut the sleeves and collars off as well. The end result was this amazingness:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This shirt took a little more time than most of my other ones as I had a bunch of pieces to cut out. After I cut the shirt, I pulled on the ends to stretch it out a bit. I think cut up shirts look better when you stretch them a bit. It allows the cut fabric to fold over itself a little giving it a worn look- plus it hides tiny imperfections.

I am obsessed with how this shirt turned out! It would rock with a yellow cami or lace bralette underneath and a pair of yellow skinny jeans. Since I love this shirt so much, I’m offering it up to the first Pirates fan that emails me their address (US only). I’ll send it to you as long as you promise to take a picture of you in the shirt at a game or bar watching the Buccos. 🙂

If you have a homemade t-shirt design to share, feel free to email it to me at aliciambarnhart@gmail.com.  Also, if you haven’t already, please like my Facebook page- Sports Wanderlust or follow me on Twitter- @alicia_barnhart.

